Camping

Years ago, I was never sure if camping was fun. I grew up in the city and never actually had the chance to experience the lifestyle in the great outdoors. When I was a lot younger, I honestly thought that camping was a bit boring. I wasn’t the biggest fan of the outdoors because I was never sure on what to expect. Also, I was the type of person who always came up with the worst case of scenarios. I would think of situations such as terrible weather, dangerous animals appearing, and even possible death. It was wrong for me to automatically view the idea of camping in a negative way since I didn’t technically experience it yet.

15206434714_6988835352_o.jpg
Photo Rydge 2014 © (CC BY NC-ND 2.0) 

However, I’ve always noticed how numerous of people genuinely enjoyed camping. Many friends and family members of mine would always recommend the best spots to go camping. When it came to social media, I saw lots of posts on Instagram and Facebook on things relating to camping. Truthfully, I honestly thought that it looked pretty fun. The beautiful pictures of the amazing scenery attracted me. Furthermore, others said that it was a unique experience. With everything going on in the city, everyone is usually caught up with work and their daily lives in general. Usually, we forget to appreciate nature because we tend to focus on all of the work and stress. Overall, I was in denial at first since I was just afraid of any bad incidents occurring. Nevertheless, I decided to finally give it a try.

pexels-photo-287240.jpeg
Photo Uhlikova 2016 © (CC NC-ND 2.0) 

Once I experienced camping, I understood why many people loved it. I had a blast with my friends and family. I was able to build lots of unforgettable memories that will always make me smile for the rest of my life. Not only that I had an amazing time, I also got the chance to learn some new stuff. My parents taught me how to put a tent up, fishing, etc. However, the highlight of my camping experience was hiking around the outdoors with my loved ones. The beautiful scenery was truly breathtaking. Everything about the trip was spectacular.

17779428771_e4d743d4ce_o.jpg
Photo Souville 2015 © (CC BY-SA 2.0) 

Overall, it made me think that it was a great way to spend quality time with all of your loved ones. From a simple campfire, to a long hike, and endless exploring… it made me realize that we should never take the outdoors for granted. At the very beginning, I wasn’t interested in the idea of spending time outdoors without the internet, television, phones, etc. After my experience in camping, I became fully aware that our lives should not always depend on social media or electronics. Although it’s one of the most important essentials in our daily lives, we should take a break from it once in a while to remember that there’s so much better things in life.

5475554914_f319c2a7bf_o.jpg
Photo Bhogal 2011 © (CC BY NC-ND 2.0) 

I finally realized that I should spend more time in the outdoors and enjoy nature. The mountains, woods, and trees are simply beautiful. Not only that the scenery is stunning, it’s also relaxing as well. I tend to look at camping as a little getaway from the chaotic city. In the city, there’s countless of cars, people rushing to work, stress that’s building up from schools, etc. While on the other hand, the outdoors tends to be more quiet and easygoing. It almost seems like time isn’t really important in that case. In the end, it allows everyone to bond with each other. Since social media and electronics are out of the picture, it’s a chance for everyone to spend quality time with one another.

Leave a Reply

