My Experience at Knott’s Scary Farm

15051141468_afe8ae2895_o.jpg
Photo Zajdowicz 2014 © (CC BY 2.0)

Every year, on the month of October, the Halloween festivities blossom across the country and the countless amounts of candy, spooky decorations, and horror movies are located everywhere. Growing up, I have always found a lot of joy and excitement when it comes to the event because I was a big fan of trick or treating, the pumpkin patches, and watching movies such as Halloweentown, Hocus Pocus, etc. Other than that, Halloween is the time where many different places spend a good amount of time to decorate and transform themselves into a haunted house, mazes, etc. Famous theme parks such as Disneyland, Knott’s Berry Farm, and Universal Studios usually participates in the Halloween festivities as well. Over the years, a numerous amount of people travel to California to experience the spine-chilling adventures.

haunt-2013-009
Photo Russell 2014 © (CC BY 2.0)

However, last year, I finally had the courage to do something that I haven’t done before. Usually, I would be against to the idea of attending the seasonal Halloween event that takes place at Knott’s Berry Farm. During the month of October, the amusement park goes by the name of “Knott’s Scary Farm” and goes through a whole different transformation to celebrate all things spooky. The park is transformed into a series of roaming monsters, terrifying mazes, and scare zones. It is the largest Halloween event to be held at a theme park. Instead of being a fun, kid friendly amusement park, the place turns into a horror theme park.

9651941478_82df39cf0e_b
Photo Rhys. A 2013 © (CC BY 2.0)

My group of friends had kindly invited me to go to the annual event. At first, I was very hesitant on saying yes but at the end of the day, they convinced me to go because I thought that it was the time for me to try something new. I normally wouldn’t attend to places that were related to horror and thriller but a part of me wanted to experience something different. Three days before Halloween, my friends and I arrived to Knott’s Scary Farm at night. It was crowded and I was surrounded by people who were full excitement. While walking to the theme park, I already heard lots of screaming and witnessed a lot of running and jumping as well. Before entering the park, I felt extremely nervous. I was shaking and I tried my best to stay close to my group of friends as much as possible. I’m the type of person who would get frightened easily so I knew that I was not ready for this experience at all. My friends tried to cheer me up and gave me a sense of encouragement as they constantly said, “You’re going to be fine. Relax.” While arriving at the entrance of the park, all sorts of worst case scenarios were running through my mind as I tried to keep a smile on my face, reminding myself that I needed to calm down. Within twenty minutes, it was time to experience the horror.

10120469386_40054465c3_z
Photo Vorpal 2013 © (CC BY-SA 2.0)

At first, nothing happened during the first few minutes of walking through the theme park. I told myself, “I guess it’s not that bad after all.” However, I was wrong. About five minutes later, a guy dressed up in a monster outfit with dark makeup and crazy makeup scared us from behind. I immediately screamed at the top of my lungs. Things got even worse when a group of 5 clowns decided to scare us from the left, right, front, and back. At that point, my friends and I were basically trapped and all I could think of was how terrified I was. I couldn’t stop screaming. As I was sprinting towards the bathroom, I noticed that I was still being chased by the groups of clowns. My friends and I hid in the bathroom for ten minutes just to catch our breaths from all of the running and jumping. During our quick break, I felt very relieved that I was in a calm state, knowing that everything was back to normal. Unfortunately, we knew that we couldn’t hid in the bathroom forever. As we took baby steps out from the bathroom, a zombie saw us at the corner of his eye and decided to chase us as well. My friends and I all screamed like crazy as we were trying our best to avoid any sort of eye contact with the people who were dressed up in the horrifying costumes. After a while, we decided to go on some of the rides and have a little bit of fun. The rides were a lot more calm compared to everything that we went through. I had lots of fun on the rides since we felt the thrill through the roller coasters. Because we were basically traumatized from all the events that we just went through, we knew that we couldn’t handle the maze. About an hour later, it got late and we were extremely exhausted so it was time to head home.

10660-illustration-of-a-cartoon-cat-sleeping-isolated-on-a-white-background-pv
Photo Gerald 2006 © (CC BY 2.0)  

Once I arrived to my house, I felt calm and at ease after all. After the whole madness, I spent the night, reflecting on what happened at the park while going through a bunch of photos and videos on my phone. I laughed at the all of the photos that my friends took of me screaming and crying from all of the events that happened at Knott’s Scary Farm. I had a smile on my face because overall, it was a scary but exciting experience and I was happy that I was able to go with my friends. However, I’m not going to lie that I had a few nightmares while I was sleeping because flashbacks of all of the zombies, clowns, and monsters chasing my friends and I would appear once in awhile. So, I did feel a little scared but relieved as well because I got it over with and I wasn’t being tortured anymore.

14853416678_ced300d06a_o.jpg
Photo Thompson 2014 © (CC BY 2.0)

Until this day, I still feel a bit scared when it comes to things that are related to horror. I still have a hard time watching horror movies and such. Also, I get the chills when I think about Knott’s Scary Farm. However, whenever I think about all the memories I’ve made with my friends, I realized that I did have fun. Although I spent the majority of my time, screaming and crying, I also laughed a lot as well. There were lots of funny moments involved and reminiscing all of the memories that I’ve made that night still puts a smile on my face.

unnamed
Photo Kassy 2014 © (CC BY 2.0)

Overall, I believe that Knott’s Scary Farm isn’t the place for everyone. I can admit that it was definitely a bit scary since you’re being surrounded by people who are dressed up in terrifying costumes and they spend the majority of the time trying to scare you. If you’re debating whether to experience the annual event someday, I would say it’s a new experience that is worth trying. However, if you’re the type of person who would get horrified easily, it would be a little traumatizing for some people. At the end of the day, I thought I was going to die but I got over it and my night at Knott’s Scary Farm turned out to be an unforgettable, fun night with my friends.

3117082737_60e8ed79b7_o.jpg
Photo fourbyfourblazer 2008 © (CC BY 2.0)
Leave a Reply

